IEEE International Conference on Communications, Control, and Computing Technologies for Smart Grids
29 Oct - 1 Nov 2018 // Aalborg, Denmark

Smarter buildings in smarter utility grids

Workshop Chair

Bo Nørregaard Jørgensen, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark

Motivation and scope

Globally buildings account for approximately 40% of the energy use and 20% of the CO2 emissions. Even through building-codes worldwide increasingly require improved energy efficiency in new buildings and retrofitted buildings, the global energy use in buildings are forecasted to increase in the next decade. Together with an expected increasing in the number of Distributed Energy Resources (DER) and Electrical Vehicles (EV), this put tremendously stress on an aging Utility grid infrastructure that are facing capacity issues and changing market requirements. Thus, there is an urgent need to rethink how buildings in combination with DER and EV interact with the Utility grids. Depending on regional needs, this may include thermal grids in addition to electricity grids, considering the large share of heating and cooling in the overall worldwide consumption and the interaction between various energy generation resources.

Historically buildings have been passive participants, acting as energy consuming end-nodes in the Utility grids. However, with the increasing pervasiveness of DER and EV, buildings may start to play a more active role in contributing to effective and efficient operation of the Utility grids. To do so, buildings must realize their intrinsic flexibility potential to interact with the Utility grids and respond to changes in the grid balance by adapting their load or increasing their on-site DER contribution to the Utility grid.

A future, in which buildings interact seamlessly with the Utility grids, requires buildings to be equipped with Building Energy Management Systems (BEMS) supporting Demand Site Management (DSM). However, traditional BEMS are typically very expensive and are normally only present in larger public and commercial buildings. This leaves most of the World’s building stock without access to automated control of building operation and energy use. To change the current situation into a desirable future situation where buildings take active part and behave as smart citizens in a world of smart utility grids, there is an urgent need for innovation of cost effective technologies and regulative incentives to make this transition happen.

This workshop will bring together academic and industrial researchers to identify and discuss technological and regulative challenges and recent results related to the promotion and integration of smart buildings in smarter Utility grids.

Main topics of interest

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Building intelligence for smart buildings
  • Building energy management systems
  • Demand-side management
  • Demand response of buildings
  • Interoperability standards for building to grid integration
  • Classification of building to grid interoperability level
  • AI and Big data in building to grid integration
  • Algorithms and IT-architectures for building flexibility integration
  • Energy flexibility in buildings
  • Building smart readiness indicator
  • Optimization of building operation and on-site DER
  • Energy Systems for Block of Buildings
  • Model-based and data-driven energy forecasting, including energy production and use
  • Transactive energy
  • Innovation in building energy services and business models
  • Innovative development, validation and testing approaches
  • Political and economic incentives
  • Socioeconomic opportunities and barriers for building to grid integration
  • Sociotechnical aspects in design and implementation of smart buildings
  • Cyber security and privacy
  • Digital technologies for enabling energy-aware user behavior
  • Digital Energy System 4.0

A number of best papers will be invited for submitting an extended version to the SpringerOpen journal Energy Informatics.

Important dates

Paper submission deadline: July 10th, 2018, July 24th, 2018.

Acceptance notification: August 15th, 2018.

Final paper (camera-ready) submission: August 22nd, 2018.

Submission guidelines

Prospective authors are invited to submit original papers (standard two-column IEEE format, up to six pages) through the EDAS submission link.

TPC members

Amine Abid, University of Passau, Germany
Qian Ai, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Marco Aiello, University of Groningen, Netherlands
Krzysztof Arendt, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Mikkel Baun Kjærgaard, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Yixing Chen, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
Anders Clausen, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Jan Corfixen Sørensen, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Ettore F. Bompard, Polytechnic University of Turin, Italy
Hermann de Meer, University of Passau, Germany
Pedro Faria, Polytechnic of Porto, Portugal
Konstantin Filonenko, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
G. R. Gangadharan, Institute for Development and Research in Banking Technology, India
Rish Ghatikar, Electric Power Research Institute, USA
Aslak Johansen, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Muhyiddine Jradi, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Sebastian Lehnhoff, OFFIS Institute for Information Technology, Germany
Zheng Ma, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Rodney Martin, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
Vitaliy Mezhuyev, University Malaysia Pahang, Malaysia
Antonello Monti, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Astrid Nieße, Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany
Lars Nordström, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
Marini Othman, Universiti Tenaga Nasional, Malaysia
Peter Palensky, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
Luiz Carlos Pereira da Silva, University of Campinas, Brazil
Tiago Pinto, University of Salamanca, Spain
Athila Quaresma Santos, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Hamid Reza Shaker, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Sebastian Rohjans, OFFIS Institute for Information Technology, Germany
Hartmut Schmeck, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Thomas Strasser, AIT Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria
Zita Vale, Polytechnic Institute of Porto, Portugal
Christian T. Veje, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Fulin Wang, Tsinghua University, China
Jiang Wu, Xi'an JiaoTong University, China
Xiangbin Yan, University of Science & Technology Beijing, China
Dr. Ariel Liebman, Monash University, Australia